Keys to Revival Series

I know, I know. I always promise to write in my blog, but never seem to be consistent about it. To be honest, I only write when something really grips me / consumes my time and I need to get it out. And something certainly has done that to me now. As many of you know, I went to a conference in Maine with Patricia King and Georgian Banov. It was an amazing conference, not for what Patricia or Georgian said or did, though it was very good, but it was the atmosphere. I don’t know if it was the church, the leadership, the speakers, or the worship leaders, but there was such an atmosphere of sonship even before anything began.  In that atmosphere my perspective of myself, my church, and my region in my own mind and heart began to change.  I / We / this region truly suffers from an orphan spirit.  But what is an orphan spirit?

Orphan Spirit

The orphan spirit causes one to live life as if he does not have a safe and secure place in the Father’s heart. He feels he has no place of affirmation, protection, comfort, belonging, or affection. Self-oriented, lonely, and inwardly isolated, he has no one from whom to draw Godly inheritance. Therefore, he has to strive, achieve, compete, and earn everything he gets in life. It easily leads to a life of anxiety, fears, and frustration.  —

Another way I have heard it put is that an orphan has no destiny, purpose, place, name, or inheritance. That when we suffer from an orphan spirit we don’t know who we are, what we are supposed to be / called to do in life, that we are not assured of our place in the Father’s heart, and like the older brother in the prodigal son story, we spend our lives working for what is already ours (no inheritance).

What I realized is that until we are so secure in the fact that the Father loves us unconditionally and that will never change, that someone more “gifted” than us is not a threat to us / is not loved more than us, until we have fixed permanently within us a burning sense of what we are alive for (ie. John Hyde “Give me souls, lest I die”), until we stop striving for what we already have, that we are seated with Christ in heavenly places, and that healing is the bread of His children, that we are orphans and orphans do not expect revival.

Oh, orphans WANT revival, but do not truly BELIEVE it will come, because the heart of revival is a father who longs for children, longs to awaken orphans to the love of a father. Worse, an orphan may not want to share what he has with the unwashed masses (because he has worked so hard to get it). He may not think that consciously, but still it may linger in the background.  So the first thing we need to do to prepare a place for revival is bulldozing the orphanage in and building a house of love where the orphans find a home / a place in the heart of the Father.

So the question is “How do we do that”?  And that is what I plan to write about as God shows me Keys to Revival.   (Cue the cool music.  Ok, maybe a bit over the top….)

This entry was posted in Revival, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

