Is My Face Red?

I do this every so often, I promise to write on my blog and then disappear for months (years) at a time.  Sorry.  The reality is that a lot has been going on in my life over the last couple of years (marriage, 2 kids, the quitting of one of my pastors and the impending retirement of the other, promotions at work, etc).  And now, I’ve had two different people indicate they wanted to talk about what I’ve written here (so I probably should read what I’ve written…)

The last few posts I did were on Grace and the finished work of the Cross, which are the heart of God / what he has done for us.  I’m going to take a slightly different road over the next little while though (but still heavily related).  You see I’ve developed an anxiety problem (Gasp!  You?  An elder in your church?  How can that be?) and I’m learning what it is to walk out my faith in light of it.

The reality is that we are still only human, wonderfully accepted by God, but still human and subject to “breakage”.  And break I did, snotted all over myself more than once this last month.  Life caught up to me, it’s not the first time it did, but it is the worse time that it did.  But it’s not really how I feel that I want to talk about over the next while, it’s what God has shown me about Himself, me, and us as human beings in general.  You see, I don’t think God started this with me, but I guarantee he will finish it and he will get glory out of it.  And that’s what I hope to write about.

So I’m going to ask you to help me stay accountable to doing so (because when you are anxious, it sometimes can be hard to do anything but sit and hope the walls don’t fall on you…), and writing is one of my outlets.  So I guess I’m asking you to be part of my healing 🙂  If you see I haven’t posted in a week, and you are friends with me (either in real life or on Facebook) reach out to me and ask me if God has shown me anything new that I haven’t posted on my blog.  That way, hopefully, both of us will be blessed 🙂

I will try to post some more insights / my journey later tonight.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is My Face Red?

  1. Denise says:

    I have been dealing with anxiety for the past 2-3 years as well. I can honestly say it sucks…but I have learned from it. God does work with us when we are struggling, letting him was the lesson I learned. Bless you Adam, looking forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

